Study programme – articulation of educational activities

In order to be awarded the Master’s title, 90 ECTS credit units need to be acquired as well as the attendance and successful completion of the students’ corresponding obligations during two (2) academic semesters' teaching, which are followed by the writing of a postgraduate thesis.

60 ECTS correspond to every kind of educational activity within the two academic semesters  (30 ECTS per term), while the remaining 30 ECTS correspond to the postgraduate thesis.  For the determination of credit units, the provisions of article 14 of Law 3374/2005 are valid.

  • Attendance at all educational activities is compulsory and constitutes a requirement for the student’s evaluation
  • A part of the Study Programme or the whole of the Programme can be offered, in addition to Greek, in a foreign language (English and/or French), following a decision by the Special Interdepartmental Committee.
  • The Study Programme includes in each semester two compulsory modules, which correspond to a total of 20 ECTS, and a choice between two modules which correspond to 6 ECTS each and from which the students are required to choose one.  The distribution of modules across semesters, their separation into compulsory and optional and their correspondence to ECTS are as follows:

1st semester

  1. Compulsory Modules
  2. Philosophy, values, mission and history of the university (10 ECTS)
  3. The political and institutional framework of higher education in Greece and Europe (10 ECTS)
  4. Optional modules of which one must be chosen
  5. Quality assurance in higher education (6 ECTS)
  6. Research methodology (6 ECTS)


2nd semester

  1. Compulsory Modules
  2. Governance and administration in higher education (ECTS)
  3. The educational dimension of the mission of higher education: Teaching and learning (12 ECTS)

B. Optional Modules of which one must be chosen

  1. The research dimension of the mission of higher education: Research and higher education (ECTS)
  2. The social dimension of the mission of higher education: University and society (6 ECTS)

In addition, each term also includes a seminar with a scientific problematic or a seminar for information, analysis and dialogue (colloquium), which corresponds to 4 ECTS.  The two colloquia include presentation-introductions by the students on particular issues.  In the first term colloquium the introductions concern specific issues from the space of Greek and European higher education with emphasis placed on current topics and contemporary developments. In the second term colloquium the introductions concern the presentation and analysis of the topic each student has chosen for his postgraduate thesis.